La traversée, mural at Jacques-Cartier bridge

La Traversée (The Crossing)

“La Traversée” (The Crossing), a mural produced by MU in partnership with The Jacques Cartier and Champlain Bridges Incorporated, was painted in the pedestrian crossing in the Île Sainte-Hélène pavilion, under the Jacques-Cartier Bridge deck.

The mural is a journey through time. Between the tunnel’s two ends, the silhouette of the bridge follows us from one end to the other. Important milestones in the bridge’s history are interspersed with vignettes that represent different aspects of the bridge’s construction. Workers and visitors from different eras show the passing generations and the iconic stature the Jacques-Cartier bridge has come to hold for the City of Montreal.

Like many of my paintings, the mural is based on a sequence of collages. The series of images and the movement through the corridor allow for the evocation of something intangible: the passing of time.

I was assisted by Cyndie Belhumeur, Arnaud Grégoire, Julian Palma, Olivier Roy, Clara and Victor during the execution of the project.

View the Gallery

Liens : Video 1  | Video 2  | Mu | Presse 1 | Presse 2

La traversée, murale au pont Jacques-Cartier

La Traversée

La Traversée, murale produite par MU en partenariat avec la société des Ponts Jacques-Cartier et Champlain inc., a été réalisée dans le tunnel piétonnier du pavillon de l’île Sainte-Hélène sous le pont Jacques-Cartier.

La murale est un voyage dans le temps. Entre les deux extrémités du tunnel, un pont en silhouette traverse avec nous d’un côté à l’autre. Des moments marquants de son histoire sont entrecoupés de vignettes représentant différents aspects de sa construction. Les travailleurs et les plaisanciers de différentes époques rendent compte du passage des générations et de l’icône qu’est devenu le pont Jacques-Cartier pour la ville de Montréal.

Reprenant un aspect de mon travail de peinture, la murale est une séquence de collages. L’étalonnage des images et la circulation dans le couloir permettent l’évocation de quelque chose d’impalpable : le temps qui passe.

J’étais assisté de Cyndie Belhumeur, Arnaud Grégoire, Julian Palma, Olivier Roy, Clara et Victor tout au long du projet.

Pour voir la galerie

Liens : Vidéo 1 | Vidéo 2 | Mu | Presse 1 | Presse 2

Unhappy birthday

911 Series, drawing no. 1

Here are some drawings I made ten years ago, another unhappy birthday.

Un triste anniversaire, dix ans plus tard. Dessins.